Encouragement, Life's Journey

Be Yourself

January 31 ,2015

We all live in a demanding world today.

  • There is so much expected of us.
  • Society judges us on what they think they see.
  • What we really are doesn’t seem to matter anymore.
  • Instead we are labeled and put in a specific box that fits their perception of us.

They observe our ethnic group, personality, education, career, possessions, politics, interests, faith, etc.

  • True, these things are part of us.
  • But, they do not in every instance define us.
  • Each one of us is an individual and need to be honored for who we are, not for who they in their ignorance decide we are.

It’s all right to be different.

  • Take time to look at nature.
  • Flowers, leaves, trees, birds, and so much more all have an individual identity.
  • How dull it would be if everything we see is the same.
  • Mother Nature would be drab and boring.

In this world there is NOT a rule that says you must meet other people’s expectations.

  • Shakespeare said, “To thine own self be true.”
  • When you are true to who you are, you have an inner strength and confidence.
  • We are not speaking about a blank check that allows you to run rough shod over others and live with selfishness and bad choices.
  • Instead we are alluding to the contentment you can have within yourself.

It’s not a coincidence that I love the poem The Road Not Taken* so much.

  • That poem is me, my life; my choice HAS made all the difference.
  • From childhood on, I knew that in many areas of life…..I didn’t fit in.
  • Did that bother me? A little, but not enough to change my direction.
  • Am I a rebel (my grandchildren would laugh at this)?
  • No, but I knew I had a path to take and I am comfortable with who I am.
  • God has a purpose for me and I need to listen to him, not to others.

In my personal life, I have dealt with people who have judged my personality and not accepted me for who I am.

  • For myself personally that has been painful to live with.
  • I like people and I want them to like me.
  • But, it is so ingrained within me to follow my path that I cannot compromise who and what I am to meet some else’s expectations or flatter their ego.

Years ago we experienced a situation with our oldest child that infuriated me.

  • We had just moved to a large well know city and she was entering the first grade.
  • The new school was very large.
  • It had six classrooms for each grade (one thru six).
  • Our daughter was not aggressive in her personality and tended to quiet.
  • The principal scheduled a meeting with us to inform us that she had decided our daughter needed to be put back into a class for slow learning children.
  • The reason was: “she seemed to be very quiet and did not ATTACK learning.”

To put this experience into perspective:

  • You need to know that the principal was older, unmarried and had never had children.
  • I was fuming. This woman did not know our child at all, but we did.
  • We wanted to prevent her from being labeled, which is a sore point with me concerning anyone.
  • We stood our ground and before long she was one of the brightest students in the class.
  • In high school she was in advanced classes and a member of the National Honor Society.

DON’T PUT YOURSELF OR OTHERS IN A BOX.

  • Believe in yourself.
  • Believe in who you are.
  • Don’t strive to fit in, be who you were made to be.
  • You will have a better sense of fulfillment.

To have victory over your life, you must accept who you are and bring your unique gifts to the lives of others. “To thine own self be true.”

“They laugh at me

because I’m different.

I laugh at them

because they’re all the same.”

(Unknown)

*Robert Frost – Mountain Interval 1920

Standard

3 thoughts on “Be Yourself

Leave a Reply

