Encouragement, Life's Journey, Poems/Songs

The Story of A Journey

Ecclesiastes 3:11……….”He hath made every thing beautiful in His time”

 

 ….September 13, 2014

There’s a line from an old hymn… “to God be the glory for great things He hath done.” That’s what the words to follow are about. How God worked and blessed in the life of one child. His child.

These things that are now put down on paper are for whoever reads them. It is my desire to speak to whomever may follow me and may one day have a need to hear from someone who has gone ahead on the path that lies before them.

I am an expert on only one thing…..my experience. It is my intention to share this very personal life journey with you.

You may be a family member, my lifelong love, child, grandchild, friend, or you might possibly even be a stranger. You are welcome to these words and the life enclosed within these thoughts.

I cannot keep silent. I understand what the prophet Jeremiah expressed when he said in verse 9 of chapter 20. “Then I said, I will not make mention of Him, nor speak any more in His name.  But His word was in my heart like a burning fire shut up in my bones:  I was weary of holding it back, and I could not.”  nkj 

 

Several reasons compel me to share myself.  Most importantly…. 

I am just like every man, a sinner. I am no better than anyone else or no worse than anyone else. The same may be said of you also.  We are all in the boat called life and each of us needs a lifeline to save us from ourselves and the destiny we deserve.

God gave to each one of us a free will to accept the gift He gave to us….

The Cross of His precious Son, Jesus Christ. In Him all things are forgiven and all things are made new.

The greatest question asked down through all the ages is a simple one. “What will you do with Christ?” You, my friend, how will you answer this question?

Secondly…. something I heard my Mother say many years ago made a profound impression upon me.

One of her brothers had died and it was up to her to clear out his home and dispose of his belongings.

Her brother had a habit, as I do, of underlining and highlighting the books he read. She took care of his final business and took quite a few of his books back to her house.

One day as I was back home visiting and as we sat talking, she said to me, “I never knew my brother until I read his books.”

Those words still ring in my ears. Maybe I can be there after I am gone to give understanding of my experiences and be of help to someone who is walking the same road that I walked.

IS THAT SOMEONE YOU?

Lastly….regardless of what I chose to do with my life, I am no one who should be honored or put on a pedestal for life accomplishments.

What is so special about me is this one fact and this fact only that I’m a sinner saved by grace.

That has made all the difference in how I lived and what was done with my life.

Life is good. Even when it hurts, it is still good.

So then this blog is written to whoever may follow behind me. This is what I will say to you:

The desert rises to the mountains

The mountains reach unto heaven.

God is there.

He was there for me.

He’ll be there for you as He has been for countless other from the Garden of Eden down to this moment.

THE ROAD NOT TAKEN

Two Roads diverged in a yellow wood,

And sorry I could not travel both

And be one traveler, long I stood

And looked down one as far as I could

To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,

And having perhaps the better claim,

Because it was grassy and wanted wear;

Though as for that the passing there

Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay

In leaves no step had trodden black.

Oh, I kept the first for another day!

Yet knowing how way leads on to way,

I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere ages and ages hence:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I —

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference.

Robert Frost (1874-1963)  Mountain Interval 1920

Standard

Leave a Reply

