Life's Journey, Poems/Songs

September Song

…..September 13, 2014

“Oh, it’s a long, long time from May to December

But the days grow short when you reach September,

When the autumn weather turns leaves to flame

One hasn’t got time for the waiting game,

Oh, the days dwindle down to a precious few, September, November,

And, these few precious days I’ll spend with you

These precious days……I’ll spend with you”**

This will date me, but I really don’t mind; so here goes. I first heard this song when I was 9 years old, and for some reason this piece of music has always stayed with me.

It’s comprised of a beautiful melody and haunting lyrics. It’s a song of romance, but for my purpose today it speaks to the seasons of life.

We are well into September now.

I spend the summers looking forward to this month because if in name only it’s a time of relief.

The hot days of summer are close to drawing to an end.

The nights begin to get cooler and the early fall days are around the corner.

The word September just sounds good to me.

Before long many parts of this country will be ablaze with color.

The trees will change their shades of greens for that of reds, golds, oranges and yellows.

The coming of winter will be challenged by a final stage of beauty that has to be seen to really be appreciated.

Somehow I believe the trees are so alive with the splendor of color in the fall; to send a message to winter. Just wait…it isn’t over yet...I’ll be back clothed with the beauty of resurrection.  

Their budding glory in the spring will announce the defeat of winter yet again.

It is the same with the seasons of our lives.

However, we need to recognize that we have more control over these same seasons; personally speaking.

Nature, the sun and moon dictate the timing and duration of spring, summer, autumn and winter on earth.

Age wise the passing of the years places us in a season. Our mindset determines which season we are in spiritually, mentally, emotionally.

It may be a short season or it can be long and tedious.

I’m in what I now consider to be the autumn of my life.

Through the years I’ve seen many springs of rebirth and many summers that were hot, dry and endless.

I’ve seen the beauties of the fall and felt the cold, hard stings of winter.

These times of life are not designed for us to park ourselves in and camp out.

They are to spur us on, to get us out of our comfort zone, to teach us so that we can help others out of whatever season of life they have let themselves become trapped in.

Hopefully, each of us has learned, become stronger and have become wiser through these seasons ourselves.  “Oh, the days dwindle down to a precious few, September, November”…..**

“We turn not older with years but newer every day.”

Emily Dickinson

**Composers Kurt Weill and Maxwell Anderson – Album Stardust

Standard

2 thoughts on “September Song

Leave a Reply

